Intellectual Property Africa


ARIPO requires the applicant to choose the specific member states where protection is required.

(Unlike OAPI where a single application automatically covers all member states)

ARIPO was established to pool the resources of its member African countries in industrial property matters together in order to avoid duplication of financial and human resources. ARIPO promotes the harmonization and development of the industrial property laws, and matters related thereto, appropriate to the needs of its members and of the region as a whole.

ARIPO establishes schemes for the training of staff in the administration of industrial property law, and organize conferences, seminars and other meetings on industrial property matters. ARIPO also assists its members, as appropriate, in the acquisition and development of technology relating to industrial property matters.

On receipt of the patent application, undertakes a substantive examination to ensure that the invention which is the object of the application is patentable. For industrial design applications, only a formality examination is performed. The substantive examination of ARIPO applications makes an ARIPO patent a particularly strong one as the examination substantially raises its presumption of validity.

Harare Protocol Contracting States

Patents & Industrial Designs

Botswana · Gambia · Ghana · Kenya · Lesotho · Liberia · Malawi · Mozambique · Namibia · Rwanda · Sào Tomé and Príncipe · Sierra Leone · Sudan · Swaziland · Tanzania · Uganda · Zambia · Zimbabwe

All current Harare Protocol Contracting States are also signatory to the PCT.

aripo harare

Banjul Protocol Contracting States

Trade Marks

Botswana · Lesotho · Liberia · Malawi · Namibia · Sierra Leone · Sudan · Swaziland · Tanzania · Uganda · Zambia · Zimbabwe

aripo Banjul