Organisation Africaine de la Propriété Intellectuelle
OAPI is a uniform intellectual property legislation applicable in each member state. OAPI member states are mostly French-speaking African countries.

The 16 member states of OAPI include:
Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Guinea,
Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Senegal, Togo

A single application covers the entire Union.


Design applications to be filed with the Organisation Africaine de la Propriété Intellectuelle in Yaoundé, Cameroon.

Application Requirements
Power of Attorney
3 sets of formal drawings
Certified priority document with sworn and verified English / French translation. The translation of the priority document must be accompanied by a signed declaration of the official translator which also carries a stamp or a seal.

Design Requirements
New and original

Design Requirements
Aesthetic, functional, industrial, graphic or product design, or patterns.

Design Classifications
Locarno Classification

Design Protection Duration
15 years from the date of the application

Design Renewals
Every 5 years from the date of the last application


The registered design owner (licensor) grants another party (licensee) permission or authorization to use the registered design. This is an agreement between the two parties and may require the licensee to pay the design owner (licensor) royalties.

Facebook     Youtube     Twitter     LinkedIn
Smit & Van Wyk. Inc. | Apex Corporate Park, Persequor Technopark, Pretoria, South Africa | Tel: +27 12 349 7800 | E-mail: